WP4: Patient Safety Good Clinical Practices


Lead Partner: Danish Society for Patient Safety (DSPS), Denmark

The WP4 work is based on the assumption that continuous safety improvement could be effectively pursued by promoting actions aimed at identifying innovative safe practices, and enabling/accelerating their diffusion to the community of healthcare professionals.

Thus this WP is concerned with identifying, assessing, and making visible good clinical practices in Patient Safety [Safe Clinical Practices (SCPs)], and setting up exchange mechanisms around SCPs. The exchange mechanisms will provide health care professionals the opportunity to increase their knowledge and develop their skills in SCPs to enhance Patient Safety.

The focus of WP4 is on the local clinical level, where patients and health professionals interact. The WP is concerned with SCPs within the health care institution (e.g. within the hospital, general or dental practice).


  • To establish transferable SCPs in PS.
  • To share SCPs through an interactive web tool.
  • To build a mechanism to share these SCPs involving Member States (MS) and relevant stakeholders.


  • Report of good clinical practices/solutions in PS (No.1)

Associated Partners (APs)

In addition to DSPS as WP Leader, 24 APs are involved in WP4.

Country Acronym Organisation
Austria BIQG Austrian Institute for Quality in Healthcare
Bulgaria NCPHA National Center of Public Health and Analyses
Croatia AQAH Agency for Quality and Accreditation in Health Care and Social Welfare
Finland THL National Institute for Health and Welfare
France HAS Haute Autorité de Santé
Germany IfPS University of Bonn, Insitute for Patient Safety
Greece NKUA National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
Hungary GYEMSZI National Institute for Quality and Organisational Development in Healthcare and Medicines
Italy AGENAS National Agency for Regional Healthcare Services
Latvia REUH Riga East University Hospital
Lithuania VASPVT State Health Care Accreditation Agency under the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Lithuania
Malta MHEC Ministry for Health, the Elderly, and Community Care
Netherlands RUNMC Stichting Katholieke Universiteit, Department of IQ Healthcare
Romania NSPHM National School of Public Health, Management, and Professional Development
Slovakia HCSA Health Care Surveillance Authority
Spain UMH Miguel Hernández University of Elche
UK DH Department of Health
UK NHSIII NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement
EU CED Council of European Dentists
EU CPME Standing Committee of European Doctors
EU EFN European Federation of Nurses Associations
EU EPF European Patients’ Forum
EU HOPE European Hospital and Healthcare Federation
EU PGEU Pharmaceutical Group of the EU


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here