The patient is in focus


The eight principles of quality management are extended to eleven characteristics in the above standard, which show that attention is paid to the patient and their needs. Their implementation must be specified and confirmed during the certification process. Given this, it should be noted that in today’s health care system the term “patient” has almost completely replaced the phrase “beneficiary”, which can give hope for a change in this direction to improve the current state of affairs. The above quality characteristics: reliable and accurate service; availability; continuity of care; efficiency; efficiency; equality; evidence-based and knowledge-based decisions; patient in the care center – attention to physical, mental and social dignity and intimacy during care; patient participation; patient safety; accuracy.

According to the standard, clinical processes should be conducted in such a way as to ensure the highest level of patient safety, as well as to minimize the possibility of medical errors and accidents, side effects and infections. The patient is the main consumer in the field of health care, satisfaction of which should be the main goal of the organization.

Risk management

As for the essence of risk management, it should be understood as the definition, analysis and identification of risk management methods. Regardless of the potential threat, the following aspects should be noted:

  • What is the probability of the risk?
  • What are the consequences of its occurrence and how does it affect the medical process?
  • What can reduce or increase the level of risk?
  • How to manage risk in relation to a particular factor?

Clinical risk is the likelihood that such events will adversely affect the entire process, but that the risk factors should not be clinical (eg, contingencies, financial risk, technical risk). Also, in this case, the risk is considered clinical, as it affects the qualitative characteristics specified in the standard.